Oscar Picks and Predictions

 

WITH the Oscars around the corner, here are my predictions and picks for all the major categories. 


BEST PICTURE

Arrival

Fences

Hacksaw Ridge

Hell or High Water

Hidden Figures – Not seen 

La La Land

Lion – Not seen 

Manchester by the Sea

Moonlight

Prediction – La La Land (possibly Moonlight) 

My pick – Manchester by the Sea 

 


ACTOR IN A LEADING ROLE

Casey Affleck, Manchester by the Sea

Andrew Garfield, Hacksaw Ridge

Ryan Gosling, La La Land

Viggo Mortensen, Captain Fantastic

Denzel Washington, Fences

Prediction – Casey Affleck 

My Pick – Affleck is incredible but I also loved Viggo in Captain Fantastic.

Screw it let’s go for Viggo because he seems like a great guy. 


ACTRESS IN A LEADING ROLE

Isabelle Huppert, Elle

Ruth Negga, Loving 

Natalie Portman, Jackie 

Emma Stone, La La Land

Meryl Streep, Florence Foster Jenkins

Prediction – Natalie Portman 

My Pick – I’ve only seen La La Land out of this selection but Stone was pretty great in that 


ACTOR IN A SUPPORTING ROLE

Mahershala Ali, Moonlight 

Jeff Bridges, Hell or High Water

Lucas Hedges, Manchester by the Sea

Dev Patel, Lion 

Michael Shannon, Nocturnal Animals

Prediction – Dev Patel 

My Pick – Lucas Hedges 


ACTRESS IN A SUPPORTING ROLE

Viola Davis, Fences 

Naomie Harris, Moonlight 

Nicole Kidman, Lion

Octavia Spencer, Hidden Figures

Michelle Williams, Manchester by the Sea

Prediction – Viola Davis 

My Pick – Michelle Williams 


ANIMATED FEATURE FILM

Kubo and the Two Strings

Moana

My Life as a Zucchini

The Red Turtle

Zootopia

Prediction – Kubo and the Two Strings 

My Pick – I’ve not seen any but I have it on good authority that Kubo is great 


CINEMATOGRAPHY

Arrival 

La La Land 

Lion 

Moonlight 

Silence

Prediction – La La Land 

My Pick – Tough one, I’d be happy if any of these won so I’ll say La La Land 


DIRECTING

Arrival 

Hacksaw Ridge 

La La Land 

Manchester by the Sea 

Moonlight

Prediction – Damien Chazelle, La La Land 

My Pick – Kenneth Lonergan, Manchester by the Sea


FILM EDITING

Arrival 

Hacksaw Ridge 

Hell or High Water 

La La Land 

Moonlight

Prediction – La La Land 

My Pick – Arrival 


PRODUCTION DESIGN

Arrival 

Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them 

Hail, Caesar! 

La La Land 

Passengers

Prediction – La La Land 

My Pick – Hail, Caesar! 


SOUND EDITING

Arrival 

Deepwater Horizon 

Hacksaw Ridge 

La La Land 

Sully

Prediction – Deepwater Horizon or Hacksaw Ridge 


SOUND MIXING

Arrival 

Hacksaw Ridge 

La La Land 

Rogue One: A Star Wars Story 

13 Hours: The Secret Soldiers of Benghazi

Prediction – Hacksaw Ridge 


VISUAL EFFECTS

Deepwater Horizon 

Doctor Strange 

The Jungle Book 

Kubo and the Two Strings 

Rogue One: A Star Wars Story

Prediction – The Jungle Book 

My Pick – The Jungle Book (If Rogue One wins this after the Tarkin abomination…well, I’ll be displeased)


WRITING (ADAPTED SCREENPLAY)

Arrival 

Fences 

Hidden Figures 

Lion 

Moonlight

Prediction – Moonlight

My Pick – Arrival 


WRITING (ORIGINAL SCREENPLAY)

Hell or High Water 

La La Land 

The Lobster 

Manchester by the Sea 

20th Century Women

Prediction – La La Land (maybe a late shout for Hell or High Water)

My Pick – Manchester by the Sea 

 

Let me know your picks in the comments below or on twitter @ReelFilm_Movies!

4 thoughts on “Oscar Picks and Predictions

Leave a Reply

