Paterson Review

It’s about a guy called Paterson who lives in Paterson. 

The film, written and directed by Jim Jarmusch, stars Adam Driver as, you guessed it, Paterson, a bus-driving poet and Golshifteh Farahani as his stay at home, arty-farty wife, Laura. 

And that’s about it, in terms of plot. The story follows Paterson through a week of his life in which he has managed to achieve a melancholic acceptance of his repetitive existence. Everyday he writes poetry before work and during his lunch break and every evening he takes his dog out for a walk and stops by the local bar for a pint.

We follow Paterson though this same sequence from Monday until Friday and we get a glimpse of his interactions with his passengers, co-workers, fellow bar goers and his wife. While these are often funny, not laugh out loud funny but a smile to yourself kind of funny, and generally nicely written with nice subtleties, they’re the basis of the entire film. That’s what this film is about. One guy doing very normal, and tedious things. And that leads to a rather tedious film.

adam-driver-paterson.jpg

That’s not to say it’s a bad film. On the contrary it’s been getting rave reviews. Everything is done nicely and Adam Driver is brilliant in the lead role and he’s charming to watch but there’s just nothing really to this film, for me. I was expecting something along the lines of Inside Llewyn Davis, one of my favourite films, which is brimmed with interesting, witty, smart and funny characters. But none of the characters in this film interested me. Paterson’s wife is, perhaps, the most annoying, insufferable person I’ve ever had to endure watching for two hours. She’s the sort of person who ‘needs’ to pursue a dream each day to be fulfilled or whatever. It’s usually a new ‘dream’ a day. She needs to be involved in he latest fad. She just comes across as a really pretentious and shallow person and I don’t buy her relationship with Paterson. They seem like such chalk and cheese characters and it feels like Paterson is often annoyed at her impracticality. It feels like he’s humouring her in a patronising way, which I felt was a tad unpleasant to watch. I don’t know if that was intentional, maybe it was. But if it was, there was no resolution to it.

The way I felt about Laura is the way I feel about the entire film, in fact. It was annoying, pretentious and tedious, trying to be cleverer than it actually is. I’m not particularly a fan of poetry but I found the poems that Paterson writes to be uninspired and dull. It’s like he’s just describing things but putting in pauses where there shouldn’t be. It felt like a robot voice which had just recorded individual words which we cut together rather than full sentences. That might appeal to some, but not to me. Is that good poetry? Like I said my knowledge of poetry is next to zilch, so maybe I’m wrong.

You spend the whole film waiting for something to happen and I felt cheated when nothing did. Like I mentioned, there’s nothing wrong with the direction or acting, Adam Driver is fantastic, but I’ve rarely been so bored. I’m just not sure what I was supposed to get out of this. A lot of people have loved it and I wish I did too. 

★★☆☆☆

BORING. While technically there is nothing inherently wrong with this film, many people have loved it and Adam Driver is fantastic, I didn’t feel at all engaged with the characters or the story. 

 

4 thoughts on “Paterson Review

  1. Pingback: Rogue One review | Reel Film

  2. Pingback: Rogue One: A Star Wars Story Review | Reel Film

  3. I enjoyed reading your review even though I dont agree with your conclusions. I also left the cinema feeling like I had spent too much time on a slow moving train to nowhere, but that is style of jarmusch in most of his films. For me this is a whimsical essay into the ordinariness of human existence. As I say in my own review: It is devoid of regular cinematic artifice and feels like we have momentarily glimpsed into the inner space of a true gentle soul and can walk away the better for it. Sorry you did not like it, but I wouldnt dismiss it too quickly.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks! I don’t think it’s bad film by any means and I’m not dismissing it…it does exactly what it wants to do and it does it very well (although, I still hate his wife). I thought Driver was great too.

      I just didn’t personally find any interest or meaning in it.

      I think its probably more a matter of taste more than anything technical. I understand what the film was doing but it wasn’t for me. But I’m glad other people can find enjoyment in it!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

